Idle Emissions Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TruckTim

Reaction score
First Name
Tim
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
Hi all, hoping someone here will know where to point me. I am still pretty new to working on engines so I am at a bit of a loss. My tuck is a 79 C20 with a 350. It is doing great on the loaded readings (about 50% the limit), but both HC and CO are double the limit at idle. It was sitting for a couple months before these test attempts. Saw a couple things in other threads, but nothing seems to matching up exactly that I found.

So far I swapped on a freshly rebuilt quadrajet (same hot air choke), new spark plugs, evap canister, and belts. It is running noticable better with the new carb. On the carb I even tried turning the idle screws all the way and still way off on testing. It is a stock rebuild on the carb so I am not sure if I should be trying to pull it apart and see what the rebuilder did as far as internal pieces or if this would point to something else. Really throwing me off that it is only way too high on idle.

Ricko1966

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
Hi all, hoping someone here will know where to point me. I am still pretty new to working on engines so I am at a bit of a loss. My tuck is a 79 C20 with a 350. It is doing great on the loaded readings (about 50% the limit), but both HC and CO are double the limit at idle. It was sitting for a couple months before these test attempts. Saw a couple things in other threads, but nothing seems to matching up exactly that I found.