intermittent stall

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

pnut16611

Reaction score
First Name
john
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
Hey everybody ! I am not a mechanic at all, more of a tinkerer. I bought an 86 last October, with a carbed sbc and it has run like a top until the last few weeks - I started having stumbling off-idle intermittently, and it`s slowly gotten worse. To start, I changed the fuel filter, with no change. But the new filter is glass, and it appeared that the fuel was boiling after an episode of rough-running. So I thought the problem is due to the increased ambient temp (over 90 most days lately), and the headers are less than six inches from the fuel line = vapor lock. So I shielded the line, and that seemed to have helped a good bit, but not eliminated the problem. Temp gauge is showing 160 avg, up to 210 sitting at a long light. Cranks & runs fine for the first twenty minutes or so, then I`ll get an off-idle stumble & start losing power. If I get off the gas & let it idle back down, it`ll smooth out. If I give it more, it`ll surge or stalls & will start right back up IF I give it a fair amount of throttle. Will run good for a few minutes and then repeat. After a stall, I popped the hood and there was little to no fuel visible in the filter - it feels like it`s running out of gas when it happens. Also, when I turn the key to off, the engine will stumble once or twice when it`s like this. Somebody educate me as to what`s going on here & thanks in advance !

fast 99

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Open a fuel line after the pump. Usually at the carb. Check pressure by cranking the engine. Should be in the 5-7lb range.

If that checks out ok add a fuel hose into a small container. Crank the engine for 20-30 seconds. There should be 8 - 16 oz of fuel.